Media Room
Industry News
National Realty e-Magazine

Industry News

Select a year 

JanuaryFebruaryMarchAprilMayJuneJulyAugustSeptemberOctoberNovemberDecember                Back

Delhi Metro Phase IV: Centre To Approve Rithala-Bawana-Narela Corridor  |  September 17, 2019

Surbhi Gupta

The Rithala-Bawana-Narela corridor of Delhi Metro Phase IV will be soon approved by the central government as per recent indications by the Union Housing and Urban Affairs Minister Hardeep Singh Puri.  He said that the corridor should be able to get the government approval 'very quickly in the next few months.'


DMRC Starts Preparatory Work For Delhi Metro Phase-IV


After Supreme Court order on July 8, 2019 to go-ahead with the construction of the Delhi Metro’s 104-km Phase IV, the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation has started preparatory work for its much-delayed Phase-IV project. The project is scheduled to be completed in five years from the date of start of work.


The Union Cabinet on March 7 has already approved three out of the proposed six routes of  the Delhi Metro Phase-IV. The three corridors that received the Cabinet's go-ahead include Mukundpur-Maujpur, RK Ashram-Janakpuri West and AeroCity-Tughlakabad corridor. The new phase is expected to connect Delhi to the farther corners of the national capital region (NCR).


It was in December last year that the Delhi government had approved all the six proposed corridors of the 104-km project.


However, with Cabinet's approval, the Phase-IV will only be 61.679-km with 46 Metro stations, of which 17 will be elevated. The total cost of the project is pegged around Rs 25,000 crore, which will be partially shared by the Delhi government.


The Delhi Metro’s Phase-IV was planned to provide last mile connectivity to the new housing hubs in the NCR. According to the government, there will be 17 underground and 29 elevated stations along the the corridors. Once completed it is expected to cater to nearly 15 lakh passengers daily.


Routes approved by the Cabinet


  • Tughlakabad to Aerocity (20 km)- There will be 15 stations on this route and will connect the Faridabad region with the airport.


  • Mukundpur to Maujpur (12 km)- There will be 6 stations on this route and will connect east Delhi with the northern region.


  • Janakpuri to RK Ashram (28 km)- There will be 25 stations on this route. This two stations are also connected through Blue Line which passes through Karol Bagh, Patel Nagar.


Tughlakabad to Aerocity

Mukundpur to Maujpur

Janakpuri to RK Ashram


Yamuna Vihar

RK Ashram



Motia Khan

Vasant Kunj Sector D

Khajuri Khas

Sadar Bazaar



Pul Bangash


Jagatpur Village

Ghanta Ghar/Sabzi Mandi




Lado Sarai


Derawal Nagar



Ashok Vihar

Saket G Block



Ambedkar Nagar








 Mukarba Chowk

Anandmayee Marg Junction


 Badli Mor

Tughlakabad Railway Colony


 North Pitampura



 Prashant Vihar



Madhuban Chowk



Deepali Chowk



Pushpanjali Enclave



West Enclave






Peeragarhi Chowk



Paschim Vihar









Krishan Park Ext.



Janakpuri West





June 2016: A Detailed Project Report (DPR) for the Phase-IV received approval.


January 2017: In-principle approval from finance ministry


December 2018: Delhi government approves Metro Phase IV


March 2019: Union Cabinet approves three out of six corridors of Phase IV